See Announcement link on navigation bar for word of forming classes.


Tae Kwon Do is a Korean martial art category which means, "The way of ultimate reality through the study of the hand and foot."  Do means way, tae means foot and kwon means hand.  Of the four styles of Tae Kwon Do, Chung Do Kwan is the most hard, meaning  one in which maximum speed is almost always practiced in the techniques.  Chung means fist. Chung Do Kwan is the study of the transition from an impending hard defense into the defense of knowledge requisite to an open-hand answer in defense whether that be a block or an attack.    By studying and practicing in the mode of maximum speed and power, Chung Do Kwan Tae Kwon Do allows the greatest development of self-defense since it embraces the most expanded vision.  This vision emanates from the dedication of the mind in training to the absolute level of answer to an attack.  The element of what is termed commitment in the techniques studied and utilized in practice creates the awesome presence of the Chung Do Kwan Tae Kwon Doist; since each technique is accomplished with maximum speed, power, strength, precision, balance and focus, the maximum efficiency is thereby tapped, and aspiring to this maximum limit of efficiency places the physical art form thus known at the hilt of capability.  Conceptually, therefore, the mind of the practitioner seeks the absolute from the viewpoint of target in the field where the field is conceived of as the body of the one who imposes with an attack.

It is with great honor to the heritage of self-defense as cultivated in the religious discipline known as karate, the reflection of the weaponless warrior, that I teach herein of this Korean martial art form, Chung Do Kwan.  Welcome to this Web site.

Marilynn Stark    
December 7, 2003
2003 - 2011 All Rights Reserved.



        This Web site, Stark Tae Kwon Do, is hereby dedicated to Grandmaster Duk Sung Son, President of the World Tae Kwon Do Association.  His vast influence as teacher and guide in this life cannot be measured.  Remember as you read here that what I learned finds its source in this most remarkable and unique teacher of karate.                         


Last modified: September 3, 2011




Contact Information

Electronic mail



 Last edited: 03/03/2012 01:09 PM